Video Games

Black Ops 2 level progression system, reveals unlock rotations

As the release for Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 approaches, Treyarch is attempting to deliver fans essential information that will be featured in the final release of the game. Recently, Treyarch’s David Vonderhaar, lead game designer on Black Ops 2, has decided to give fans some insight on how the level progression system will work in Black Ops 2.

Over on the official Black Ops 2 forums, Vonderhaar has come forth with a sizable post about how the level progression system will play out. In doing so, Vonderhaar confirms that Black Ops 2 will include 55 levels in the multiplayer leveling system. It is stated that the total amount of XP required to advance through the levels will be similar to World at War and the original Modern Warfare. “I’d say it’s easier to level up, because you earn more XP than ever before with our Medals, Challenges we make available to you, as well as the leveling up guns themselves which grant bonus XP.”

In detailing the specific rotation of unlocks throughout each level acquired, Vonderhaar states the following:

You unlock Create a Class at level 4, just like our last game. You get 1 unlock token every time you level up. So at level 4, you have 4 tokens.

At level 4, we give you about a dozen things you can equip “for free.” This means you don’t have to spend an unlock token on them. It’s effectivelly one item from each category.

  • 1 Assault Rifle
  • 1 SMG
  • 1 LMG
  • 1 Shotgun
  • 1 Sniper Rifle
  • 1 Perk from each of the 3 perk categories
  • 1 lethal grenade
  • 1 tactical grenade/equipment

We also give you about a dozen things you can spend your unlock tokens on. 1 item from each category, plus you can unlock a Wildcard with an unlock token.

You get a perk at level 5. You get equipment at level 6.

At level 7 we unlock Scorestreaks. You get 3 for free and 3 you can optionally spend unlock tokens on.

At level 8 we give you a Perk. At level 9 we give you new Scorestreak.

At level 10, we start to settle into a pattern. Their are exceptions, but the pattern is generally like this. At every major rank change, which is every 3 levels, we give you a gun and usually “something else” as a bonus for reaching a major rank change.

In general, it goes like this.

  • Level 10 – Weapon + Something Else
  • Level 11 – Equipment (either lethal or tatical).
  • Level 12 – Scorestreak

This pattern then repeats through all 55 levels with some minor statstical variations or bonuses when they make sense and because they math can’t be perfect.

As stated in this post, Treyarch will be listening to fan feedback on suggestions to the progression system incorporated into Black Ops 2 multiplayer. If you have any feedback to give Treyarch about specific equipment unlocks at certain levels, be sure to reach out to them.